//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

“Egotism VS Self-respect” Thin Line Series

Here we go, in reference to the last post I made about turning my non-fiction book “The Thin Line” into a fiction series. I have come up with another in the long line of titles that I hope will produce even an iota of the respect that I have for some of the great ones out there. As I stated before I will start off with my open opinion, which as you may already know is a thought that is expressed openly, of the subject. This will be a non-fiction type statement of what I believe to be the difference between the two subjects. Then I hope to put the character into a situation where the question is answered as they solve some sort of problem/riddle.

That being said here we go:

Egotism Vs Self-respect

I was struggling to get this one off the ground. Then it hit me egotism isn’t quite the right word I was searching for. I believe what I really wanted to use is self-esteem or maybe it is self-image. Here in lies the beauty of writing, and the even more beautiful effect of doing it on a computer instead of a typewriter. Or even pen/pencil and paper. I do not have to worry about filling the round filing cabinet on the floor with paper either due to typos or too many erasure marks. Also, if something doesn’t feel right, as in this situation. One can simply go back in and fix it. No fuss no muss.

So now on to my other problem, is it Self-respect VS Egotism, is it Self-esteem VS Self-worth, what is the real difference between them all? Maybe I am missing the mark all together.

Deep down I am trying to exude a feeling I get when others put themselves on a higher plane than the rest of us. I believe that to be egotism. As some may believe that egotism, self-esteem, self-worth, and self-respect are all the same thing I plan to prove beyond a shadow of a doubt to this very court of WordPress, that they are not.

I think I have just developed my character for this particular story. Anyhow……

On the subject of the two Egotism VS Self-respect, it is my opinion that people confuse them-selves as to the difference. Egotism is described as narcissism, self-centeredness, arrogance, vanity….. Self-respect is self-regard, dignity, self-esteem…… Unfortunately it appears to me that their are many whom seem to mix the two of these together. Egotistically they seem to think it is their self-respect that allow them to treat others with a lack of that same measure of respect.

This my friends is not self-respect or self-worth, it is plain and simple egotistical egotism. I plan to do all I can to fight the injustice laid down by some of my co-workers…oops..did I let that slip? Yeah Yeah, so this all started because of some things that are going on at work. Color me a jack a$$, I don’t care. If this is what it takes to keep me from turning a fiction story into a reality series all the better.

Alright, so I don’t get that upset, I do however, abhor the way some people can create a mess of some sort and then seem to think it is ok for some one else to be left to clean it. It is egotism that allows them to think it is just fine. Self-respect would compel them to clean it up themselves.

Aha! you are beginning to see the difference. Now it will be my job to turn this perfectly non-fictional idea into a fictional story. Wish me luck.

About Bigboomer

Hello, first of all I would like to thank you for visiting my blogsite. I am going to tell you a little about me. My name is Ray, I started writing back in high school. Every once in a while I would come up with a few ideas and would write them down. Most of which became poems others became short stories. Some of my inspirations are of the heart, some of them come from the thoughts of the day. You will see, as you browse threw my site my poetry is about as diverse as you can get. I hope that as you read them some will have you thinking of love, while others will make you feel sorrow. I would like some of them to set you off to an adventure. Finally, I have some poems that may make you hungry. I do have some inspirations that just plane turn into ramblings or rants as, if you read in here, you will see. I have managed to get two books published so far, the first one is titled Pathways, it may be found at xlibris.com/RayBohdan.html. there you can view a couple of excerpts form the book. The second book is Mingling Hues of My Mind it is at publish America A little bit more about me. I am fifty-one years old I have three children, Rainney, Elisa, and Anthony and two well, actually, three grandchildren Raeanne Marie, Graycee, and Amaya. I guess I could go on, but then I am afraid this will come out sounding like a dating profile. Part of my site will be dedicated to my poetry, I plan to break it down into different sections and organize it by type/style. Another section of this site will be dedicated to my blog it will be about my rants/thoughts of the day. These will vary from political, to personal, to comical. I will talk about most anything and everything that I feel may be of interest to someone. I also will devote a section to some of my favorite recipes with hints on how to capture his/her heart by winning their stomach. My favorite foods are Italian and Mexican, but this section will not be limited to those two types. I do believe however, that the most important part of my site will be the dedication pages. These will be to memorialize special loved ones and friends, as well as thank those that have made purchases of my afore-mentioned book. This is exactly what you think it is. A way for me to sell my self as a writer. Publicly get my words and thoughts out into the world. Please believe me when I say that this in no way demeans or diminishes my passions for the people and the love of which I have written, and will continue to write. I trust that once you read my poems you will feel the love i have felt, the pains I have been through, and the joys of life itself. Once again I thank you for stopping by please enjoy.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a comment